Skip to main content

Huntington Beach Union High School District

Curriculum, Instruction, & Categorical Programs » District English Learner Advisory Council (DELAC)

District English Learner Advisory Council (DELAC)

Every California public school district with 51 or more English Learners, regardless of language, must form a DELAC or subcommittee of an existing districtwide advisory committee.

The purpose of DELAC is to advise district and school administration on English learner program services. Through their involvement in DELAC, parents of English Learners (ELs) acquire information in order to understand and voice concerns related to the District’s English learner programs to ensure the success of these students.

Comité Consultivo del Distrito para Estudiantes de Inglés (DELAC)

Cada distrito escolar público en California con 51 o más Estudiantes de inglés (ELs), sin importar el idioma, debe formar un Comité Consultivo del Distrito para Estudiantes de Inglés (DELAC) o un subcomité de un comité consultivo existente en el distrito.

El propósito de DELAC es aconsejar a la administración del distrito y las escuelas en los servicios y programas para estudiantes Aprendices de inglés. A través de su participación en DELAC, padres de Estudiantes de inglés adquieren información para entender y expresar preocupaciones relacionados a los programas del distrito para Estudiantes de inglés para asegurar el éxito de estos estudiantes.

2021-2022 DELAC Meeting Dates

Date/Fecha Time/Horario Location

Friday, August 13, 2021
Agenda | Minutes          
10:00 a.m to 11:00 am
(English/Vietnamese)
11:00am - 12:00pm 
(English/Spanish)
Virtual Meeting, please email:
tminkoff@hbuhsd.edu for link to join
Thurs., Sept. 30, 2021
10:00am - 12:00pm
Westminster High School Career Center
Thurs., December 9, 2021
10:00am - 12:00pm
Westminster High School Library 
Thurs., March 10, 2022
10:00am - 12:00pm
Westminster High School Library
Thurs., May 26, 2022
10:00am - 12:00pm
Westminster High School Library 

Contacts/Contactos

School
Escuela
Contact
Contacto
Title
Título
Email
Correo Electrónico
Phone
Teléfono
District Office Rocky Murray Executive Director, Curriculum, Instruction & Categorical Programs rmurray@hbuhsd.edu 714-903-7000
District Office Tammy Minkoff  Administrative Secretary tminkoff@hbuhsd.edu 714-903-7000
District Office Sandy Smallshaw Interpreter/Translator (Spanish) ssmallshaw@hbushd.edu 714-903-7000
District Office John Nguyen Interpreter/Translator (Vietnamese) jnguyen@hbushd.edu 714-903-7000
Huntington Beach HS Erin Stowell PELL Coordinator - HBHS estowell@hbuhsd.edu 714-536-2514
Huntington Beach HS Rosanna Jimenez Community Outreach Specialist (Spanish) rjimenez@hbushd.edu 714-536-2514 
Westminster HS
Jesus Ortega
Mai-Khanh
Cong-Huyen
Community Outreach Specialist (Spanish)
(Vietnamese)
mkong-huyen@hbuhsd.edu
714-893-1381 
Westminster HS Richard Martin PELL Coordinator - WHS rmartin@hbuhsd.edu
714-893-1381 
 
Marina HS Lupe Melgoza District English Language Learner Facilitator gmelgoza@hbushd.edu  714-893-6571
ext. 4136
Fountain Valley HS  Matt Patton  PELL Coordinator - FVHS mpatton@hbuhsd.edu  714-962-3301
Fountain Valley HS  Marianne Young  PELL Assistant (Vietnamese) msheats@hbushd.edu  714-962-3301
ext. 4620
Edison HS Zoran Forgiarini PELL Coordinator - EHS  zforgiarini@hbuhsd.edu
(714) 962-1356
ext. 4389
Ocean View HS Robert Tapia Community Outreach Specialist (Spanish) rtapia@hbuhsd.edu 714-848-0656 
Ocean View HS Marian White Pell Coordinator - OVHS mlwhite@hbuhsd.edu 714-848-0656
Valley Vista HS Peter Dang Pell Coordinator - VVHS pdang@hbuhsd.edu 714-964-7766