Skip to main content

Huntington Beach Union High School District

Special Education » Home

Home

The Huntington Beach Union High School District (HBUHSD) provides a continuum of supports and services for students with disabilities to help them access their education. Special education services are available to students with disabilities who qualify for an Individualized Education Program (IEP). Each student’s program is individually determined to meet their unique needs in the least restrictive environment. Our educators are passionate about supporting students, which is translated into very rich learning environments. HBUHSD is a member of the West Orange County Consortium for Special Education (WOCCSE). WOCCSE serves as the Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA) for HBUHSD and our feeder districts. Our district is committed to supporting the needs of the students and families that make up our school district. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact our department.

Contact Information

  • Douglas Siembieda
    Director, Special Education
    dsiembieda@hbuhsd.edu
    • Andrew Kuhlman
      Special Programs Administrator 
      akuhlman@hbuhsd.edu
    • Joe Loomis
      Special Abilities Cluster (SAC) Administrator
      jloomis@hbuhsd.edu
    • Megan Clark
      Special Program Psychologist
      mclark@hbuhsd.edu
    • Joseph Ampudia
      Special Program Psychologist
      jampudia@hbuhsd.edu
    • Crissy Werner
      Autism Specialist
      cwerner@hbuhsd.edu
    • Hailey Romero
      Assistive Technology Specialist
      hromero@hbuhsd.edu
    • Nina Jones
      Math & Curriculum Specialist
      njones@hbuhsd.edu
    • Emily Takeuchi
      Inclusion Specialist
      etakeuchi@hbuhsd.edu
    • Ashleigh Broullard                                                                                                                                                                          Inclusion Specialist                                                                                                                                                                      abroullard@hbuhsd.ed